• James G. Berardinelli
  • James Barron


The Montana Academy of Sciences (MAS) was incorporated on the 20th day of March, 1961, as a non-profit, educational organization. The objectives of the Montana Academy of Sciences are to encourage interest and participation in the sciences and to promote public understanding of science and its contribution to society. The Academy accomplishes its objectives by conducting meetings of those interested in sciences and the education of scientists, by publishing contributions to scientific knowledge, by supporting research, by making awards to recognize accomplishments in science, by administering gifts and contributions to accomplish these aims, by assigning and cooperating with affiliated and other organizations with similar objectives, and by engaging in such other activities as deemed necessary to accomplish its objectives. We held our 2017 Annual Meeting at Montana Tech in Butte, MT. on April 7 and 8. Over 100 registrants participated, viewing 22 contributed oral presentations and 20 poster presentations over the day and a half meeting. We present the abstracts from our meeting here so that the readers of the Intermountain Journal of Sciences can see the quality and types of science supported by MAS. Please mark your calendars for our next meeting, April 6 and 7, 2018 in Butte. Finally, the Board of Directors of MAS would like to thank the sponsors of our 2017 Annual Meeting: Dr. Doug Coe, Dean, College of Letters, Sciences and Professional Studies, Montana Tech Dr. Beverly Hartline, Vice Chancellor for Research, Montana Tech Dr. Renee Reijo Pera, VP for Research, Montana State University Dr. Beth Weatherby, Chancellor, University of Montana – Western Dr. Tim Laurent, Provost and VP for Academic Affairs, University of Great Falls Department of Biological and Physical Sciences, Montana State University – Billings





Montana Academy of Sciences [Presentation Abstracts]